Helpful ReplyGTX 980 FTW Crashing

Page: < 12345 > Showing page 3 of 5
Author
Sajin
EVGA Forum Moderator
  • Total Posts : 49170
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 199
Re: GTX 980 FTW Crashing 2015/06/03 11:32:04 (permalink)
Is evga making you pay for shipping each time you rma the card to them? If so, ask for a prepaid label each time.
Jshiver90
  • Total Posts : 83
  • Ribbons : 0
Re: GTX 980 FTW Crashing 2015/06/03 13:03:01 (permalink)
deuce985
Jshiver90
deuce985
Jshiver90
I do have the GTX 980 FTW ACX 2.0. I just can't imagine it being another part if down clocking the GPU fixes the problem 100%. Like I said, I'm not a techie, and that's why I came here. I've done everything people have suggested so far to test the other parts in the PC, and the only thing that's worked so far is down clocking the GPU. I even replaced a PSU that Corsair said was working within normal parameters; they were very helpful, and replaced it anyways.

I really don't know what else to try.

I've updated my support ticket several times, but still haven't gotten a reply. Guess my next step is to just buy a new GPU.

Nothing you can do except RMA the card. Looking at all the steps you did above and saying only underclocking the GPU makes everything run stable directly points to a bad GPU. It sucks you have to RMA another card but that's the way it is. If it was something like RAM you would get errors doing the testing or if it was a bad motherboard you would likely get BSODs no matter if underclock or not. If it was a bad PSU then most likely your entire PC is going to shutdown like someone pulled the plug or you would get certain errors. You mentioned you checked your PSU and even RMA for a new one. It's a bad GPU. You have an unstable overclock is why it's stable when you underclock. It could be it was stable leaving EVGA's facility but quickly went bad. Sounds like you just got unlucky unfortunately. I would demand EVGA pay for your shipping on both sending and return.