AS5 vs Arctic Silver Ceramique

Author
danielxcloud
SSC Member
  • Total Posts : 522
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 5
2010/05/06 20:36:49 (permalink)
Well folks, I built my new rig about 2-3 weeks ago and..
I put the Arctic Silver Ceramique on my CPU and not AS5.

I didn't have any AS5 on me at the time and didn't really do my research on TIM.

Should I scrape (lightly of course) off my Ceramique to put AS5 on, or will I not notice that much of a temp difference?

Thanks in advance. (My CPU has been running a little hot and I want to cool it off some, wondering if this would help)

20 Replies Related Threads

JeffreyHam
    R.I.P. Friend
    • Total Posts : 7737
    • Ribbons : 126
    Re:AS5 vs Arctic Silver Ceramique 2010/05/06 23:22:20 (permalink)
    If this is what you used: http://www.arcticsilver.com/arctic_alumina.htm

That is the same exact product that I have on my CPU and GFX cards. I have been using it for several years...it does a real fine job.

PLEASE REMEMBER TO UPLOAD A COPY OF YOUR INVOICE 

= My Current Linked and Synced Settings

All detailed system components are listed on my Mods Rigs page
    G9200
    • Total Posts : 15
    • Ribbons : 0
    Re:AS5 vs Arctic Silver Ceramique 2010/05/07 00:16:58 (permalink)
    I use AS5 for CPU and Ceramique for GPUs/NB/SB

Arctic Silver Ceramique doesn't perform as good as AS5, but it's "harmless": AS5 is conductive and has killed one mobo for me (AS5 in the CPU socket).  I'd guess differance is 3-5C, not much unless you're aiming for abs max OC.

AS5 becomes more liquid when it's warm, let rig cool down before reseating HSF etc.

Q9650 (lapped) 4050MHz, 1.36875vcore, 1.35v FSB, 1.55v SPP, GTLVREF 20,10,20,10, 1.25v NF200, RAM 900MHz - Linpack Maximum 25 runs
    TRUE Black (lapped)
    EVGA 750i SLI FTW (Pencil vdroop mod, SZ1I BIOS)
    OCZ Blades PC2-9200 2x2GB Low Volt 1.8v
    SLI Leadtek GXT260 Extreme+ (216SP, 1.06v, 65nm)
    Dell SP2309W (2048x1152)
    Corsair HX1000
    Samsung F3 1TB