EVGA

AnsweredHot!Dos the X299 Dark have a key to select boot source? Like F11 or ESC on asus.

Author
valzero
New Member
  • Total Posts : 95
  • Reward points : 0
  • Joined: 2009/06/27 18:45:27
  • Status: offline
  • Ribbons : 0
2018/12/19 09:52:24 (permalink)
So I bought a 2tb NVME for games and keeping my old 1tb NVME for work and I want to be able to restart my pc and select the drive I want to boot from without changing bios settings every time. I should have asked this question pre purchase. Thank you.

7920x 4.8Ghz
32GB Samsung B 4000Mhz Cas 18 18 18 38
x299 Dark
EVGA 2080ti FTW3 SLI x16 x16
1TB Samsung NVME x4
2TB Intel NVME x4
 

#1
bcavnaugh
The Crunchinator
  • Total Posts : 38112
  • Reward points : 0
  • Joined: 2012/09/18 17:31:18
  • Location: USA Affiliate E5L3CTGE12 Associate 9E88QK5L7811G3H
  • Status: offline
  • Ribbons : 276
Re: Dos the X299 Dark have a key to select boot source? Like F11 or ESC on asus. 2018/12/19 10:02:50 (permalink)
F10 For Boot Menu (But only Works when the Bios is set to Legacy Boot Mode)
Going to be hard if you have Fast Boot Enabled.
You also need to set the Bios to allow Boot from Both.
But this is what going to happen.
When one OS Sees the Other OS you are going to run into issue.
The Best way and Only I have found is to setup two Different Bios Profiles.
One has the one M.2 Enabled and the other Disabled so the OS Cannot see it, a the other set the same but the other way around.
 
I do not thing you can even do this on an ASUS Motherboard with 2 M.2 NVMe Drives without two different Bios Profiles.
post edited by bcavnaugh - 2018/12/19 10:23:17

Affiliate Code: E5L3CTGE12 & Associate Code: 9E88QK5L7811G3H  NoDarkSkies


 
#2
valzero
New Member
  • Total Posts : 95
  • Reward points : 0
  • Joined: 2009/06/27 18:45:27
  • Status: offline
  • Ribbons : 0
Re: Dos the X299 Dark have a key to select boot source? Like F11 or ESC on asus. 2018/12/19 10:16:45 (permalink)
F10 for boot menu, nice. So disable fast boot. "set bios to allow boot from both" w/e that means. Almost done copying the OS to the second NVME so I will try this. 

7920x 4.8Ghz
32GB Samsung B 4000Mhz Cas 18 18 18 38
x299 Dark
EVGA 2080ti FTW3 SLI x16 x16
1TB Samsung NVME x4
2TB Intel NVME x4
 

#3
bcavnaugh
The Crunchinator
  • Total Posts : 38112
  • Reward points : 0
  • Joined: 2012/09/18 17:31:18
  • Location: USA Affiliate E5L3CTGE12 Associate 9E88QK5L7811G3H
  • Status: offline
  • Ribbons : 276
Re: Dos the X299 Dark have a key to select boot source? Like F11 or ESC on asus. 2018/12/19 10:23:57 (permalink)
Just Tested > F10 For Boot Menu (But only Works when the Bios is set to Legacy Boot Mode)
But this was with a M.2 NMVe Drive and a DVD SATA Drive.

Affiliate Code: E5L3CTGE12 & Associate Code: 9E88QK5L7811G3H  NoDarkSkies


 
#4
valzero
New Member
  • Total Posts : 95
  • Reward points : 0
  • Joined: 2009/06/27 18:45:27
  • Status: offline
  • Ribbons : 0
Re: Dos the X299 Dark have a key to select boot source? Like F11 or ESC on asus. 2018/12/20 07:06:54 (permalink)
F10 did not work. Ok let me go find that legacy boot option. Thanks.

7920x 4.8Ghz
32GB Samsung B 4000Mhz Cas 18 18 18 38
x299 Dark
EVGA 2080ti FTW3 SLI x16 x16
1TB Samsung NVME x4
2TB Intel NVME x4
 

#5
Monstieur
Superclocked Member
  • Total Posts : 108
  • Reward points : 0
  • Joined: 2016/08/31 02:04:28
  • Status: offline
  • Ribbons : 2
Re: Dos the X299 Dark have a key to select boot source? Like F11 or ESC on asus. 2018/12/20 08:30:10 (permalink)
Don't use legacy boot as that disables pure UEFI. If the board doesn't have boot device selection for UEFI, just use BCDEDIT to add an entry to the Windows boot loader configuration of the first drive to boot the second OS.
post edited by Monstieur - 2018/12/20 08:33:14
#6
bcavnaugh
The Crunchinator
  • Total Posts : 38112
  • Reward points : 0
  • Joined: 2012/09/18 17:31:18
  • Location: USA Affiliate E5L3CTGE12 Associate 9E88QK5L7811G3H
  • Status: offline
  • Ribbons : 276
Re: Dos the X299 Dark have a key to select boot source? Like F11 or ESC on asus. 2018/12/20 10:49:27 (permalink)
valzero
F10 did not work. Ok let me go find that legacy boot option. Thanks.

You really want UEFI Boot for Windows 10.
If you do change you will need to clean the Drives and reinstall the OS as Legacy and I do not think that NVMe Support Legacy Boot.
post edited by bcavnaugh - 2018/12/20 10:54:44

Affiliate Code: E5L3CTGE12 & Associate Code: 9E88QK5L7811G3H  NoDarkSkies


 
#7
Sajin
EVGA Forum Moderator
  • Total Posts : 44095
  • Reward points : 0
  • Joined: 2010/06/07 21:11:51
  • Location: Texas, USA.
  • Status: offline
  • Ribbons : 197
Re: Dos the X299 Dark have a key to select boot source? Like F11 or ESC on asus. 2018/12/20 12:53:18 (permalink) ☼ Best Answerby valzero 2018/12/24 09:28:09
Try F7.

Want to save 5 to 10% on your next EVGA purchase? Just click on the associates banner to save, or enter the associates code at checkout on your next purchase. If you choose to use my code I want to personally say "Thank You" for using it.
 

 
#8
valzero
New Member
  • Total Posts : 95
  • Reward points : 0
  • Joined: 2009/06/27 18:45:27
  • Status: offline
  • Ribbons : 0
Re: Dos the X299 Dark have a key to select boot source? Like F11 or ESC on asus. 2018/12/24 09:27:30 (permalink)
For those looking the correct answer was F7 and yes now I have dual boot with 2 NVME's. 

7920x 4.8Ghz
32GB Samsung B 4000Mhz Cas 18 18 18 38
x299 Dark
EVGA 2080ti FTW3 SLI x16 x16
1TB Samsung NVME x4
2TB Intel NVME x4
 

#9
Sajin
EVGA Forum Moderator
  • Total Posts : 44095
  • Reward points : 0
  • Joined: 2010/06/07 21:11:51
  • Location: Texas, USA.
  • Status: offline
  • Ribbons : 197
Re: Dos the X299 Dark have a key to select boot source? Like F11 or ESC on asus. 2018/12/24 10:03:56 (permalink)


Want to save 5 to 10% on your next EVGA purchase? Just click on the associates banner to save, or enter the associates code at checkout on your next purchase. If you choose to use my code I want to personally say "Thank You" for using it.
 

 
#10
bcavnaugh
The Crunchinator
  • Total Posts : 38112
  • Reward points : 0
  • Joined: 2012/09/18 17:31:18
  • Location: USA Affiliate E5L3CTGE12 Associate 9E88QK5L7811G3H
  • Status: offline
  • Ribbons : 276
Re: Dos the X299 Dark have a key to select boot source? Like F11 or ESC on asus. 2018/12/24 10:22:59 (permalink)
valzero
For those looking the correct answer was F7 and yes now I have dual boot with 2 NVME's. 


post edited by bcavnaugh - 2018/12/24 10:27:11

Affiliate Code: E5L3CTGE12 & Associate Code: 9E88QK5L7811G3H  NoDarkSkies


 
#11
damon007
New Member
  • Total Posts : 5
  • Reward points : 0
  • Joined: 2006/12/15 10:52:12
  • Location: France
  • Status: offline
  • Ribbons : 0
Re: Dos the X299 Dark have a key to select boot source? Like F11 or ESC on asus. 2020/08/03 12:20:50 (permalink)
Hi
I unearth the topic a little bit, but there is also the possibility to enable " Always show boot option", in Boot options , that avoid to press on F7
#12
ZoranC
iCX Member
  • Total Posts : 412
  • Reward points : 0
  • Joined: 2011/05/24 17:22:15
  • Status: offline
  • Ribbons : 4
Re: Dos the X299 Dark have a key to select boot source? Like F11 or ESC on asus. 2020/08/03 22:34:41 (permalink)
damon007
Hi
I unearth the topic a little bit, but there is also the possibility to enable " Always show boot option", in Boot options , that avoid to press on F7




V 1.23 BIOS has that
#13
Jump to:
  • Back to Mobile