3080 FTW3 aRGB header device limit?

Author
Lucas McCain
  • Total Posts : 5
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 0
2020/10/26 09:03:15 (permalink)
Hello all,

I got my 3080 over the weekend, and I'm enjoying it immensely. I don't have an aRGB header on my motherboard, so I plugged the aRGB devices I have into the header on my card instead of the controller that came with my case. This works wonderfully, but makes me want to replace the last few fans I have that are not aRGB with some that are. However, I certainly don't want to overload this header and damage my card.

What is the limit for the number of devices I can have attached to the aRGB header on the card?

I currently have two case fans, as well as two LED strips that are daisy chained. I would like to add 3 more fans if possible.

This is my first foray into aRGB, so I'm still learning. Eventually, I'll get a new CPU/MOBO, and it should be less of an issue, I suppose. I'm just not ready to do so ATM. Thanks.
post edited by Lucas McCain - 2020/10/26 12:55:47

12 Replies Related Threads

Sajin
    EVGA Forum Moderator
    • Total Posts : 49168
    • Ribbons : 199
    Re: 3080 FTW3 aRGB header device limit? 2020/10/26 17:24:54 (permalink)
    Probably limited to two amps on that header. Best to contact evga to confirm though.
    Dabadger84
    CLASSIFIED Member
    • Total Posts : 3426
    • Ribbons : 10
    Re: 3080 FTW3 aRGB header device limit? 2020/10/26 18:16:48 (permalink)
    Does the aRGB plug system even pull any power, I thought all the fan power comes from the power plug, and the aRGB cord is simple for telling things what to do in terms of lighting.  Could be wrong though, I'm still new at the whole RGB thing relatively speaking.
    I would definitely give eVGA Customer Support a call & verify it before you stick more things on it, just to be on the safe side.