EVGA

AnsweredPrecision X1 wont start with windows 10

Page: < 12 Showing page 2 of 2
Author
nvidia_man123
  • Total Posts : 26
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 1
Re: Precision X1 wont start with windows 10 2022/01/13 14:35:33 (permalink) ☄ Helpfulby BizSAR 2022/01/17 14:09:59
Thanks for bringing this thread back to life. 

There may be multiple things at play here and I am not an expert. I certainly don't mean to invalidate anyone else's previous solution. If you found something that worked for you, great - stick with that!

I'll post about how I solved it, in the hope that someone else will see it and it will work for them too.

In my case, the issue was with a newish Win10 and 11 feature called controlled folder access. (read about it here: How to enable & use Controlled Folder Access in Windows 11/10 (thewindowsclub.com))

It's a great security feature and really restricts the damage ransomware can do to your system should you get infected. It means your windows & system folders, 'My Documents' folders etc. won't get encrypted if your PC is infected by a crypto-locker virus. For that reason, I think it's better to learn how it works and switch it on rather than switch off the feature completely.

I'm using Win 11 so keep that in mind if you decide to follow my instructions (I'm sure the general concept is the same in Win10 but you never know).

So to make the settings "stick": You may be able to install PrecisionX in a folder that is not a "controlled folder" by default (so install in something like C:/Precision (as someone earlier in the thread suggested) rather than its default location at C:\Program Files\EVGA\Precision X1

BUT, I have not tried this method because, no matter where PrecisionX is installed, if it needs to save anything (like a settings/config file to any protected folder - i.e even your documents folder - it can't do so unless you allow the app access or turn off the controlled folder access feature.