Issue with a fan on 1080ti SC2

Author
Squidmaster7
  • Total Posts : 7
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 0
2020/02/13 08:30:20 (permalink)
Hi everyone, 

Recently, a fan on my 1080ti SC2 has stopped spinning. I noticed this because my temps were much higher than usual while gaming. I discovered that one of the fans was not spinning.I have been using Afterburner for many years to set a linear fan curve. Afterburner controls both fans and bypasses any iCX functionality. My first thought was that a fan header or something had gotten loose. I physically inspected the card and reseated it. No luck. I reinstalled all drivers and afterburner. No luck there either. So in a last ditch effort I installed Precision X (knowing that i could control each fan independently). Surprisingly, Precision X was able to move my fan. So now we know it is almost certainly not a hardware issue. 

This issue really confuses me. No settings changed in afterburner. I did notice this issue after doing a driver update but I doubt that actually triggered the problem and reverting did not help anyway. My question is what should my next step be? Is this worthy of an RMA? In my mind I have tried almost every single possible action. Does anyone have any advice? 

7 Replies Related Threads

Sajin
    EVGA Forum Moderator
    • Total Posts : 49165
    • Ribbons : 199
    Re: Issue with a fan on 1080ti SC2 2020/02/13 10:25:53 (permalink)
    Squidmaster7
    Is this worthy of an RMA?

Nope, as precision can control the fan.
    Squidmaster7
    Re: Issue with a fan on 1080ti SC2 2020/02/13 11:49:10 (permalink)
    Sajin
    Squidmaster7
    Is this worthy of an RMA?

Nope, as precision can control the fan.