Author
SmookinJoe
FTW Member
  • Total Posts : 1345
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 4
2022/09/15 21:55:50 (permalink)
How is Everybody doin?
Allot of things have gotten me down over the last few years. Not to mention my Karma being so strong that it has affected corporations and communities that I have come to rely on.
When I set out from the east coast of Canada, to find my way in the world, I had one thing in the back of my mind.
Buy a house.
That was in the early 80's. While I was in Calgary moving furniture and learning to drive tractor trailer (that was self taught in a weekend by the faith of my dispatcher).
Calgary is a boom/bust economy and before long I moved to Vancouver BC (House prices were in the low to mid 6 figures and I wasn't interested in paying that much)
As I am reaching my end of life I decided I now have a new thing left to do.
I did buy a house, in 1986, for $70,000. I bought it with a girl I had recently met. Growing old with her has not been exactly what I expected
I made friends with the neighbor beside me who owned a little shack of a house with no foundation. Their lot was larger than mine and I needed a place to park a tractor trailer.
They said I could park back there but it might not be there in the morning because it will probably have sunk into the ground
I brought in a D-3 Cat and had it leveled..they treated me like a king after that and never charged me to park there. (Every few years I would surprise  the two son's with beer and cash just to say thank you)
Eventually I bought that property for $200,000 and moved a house onto it and built a whole new lower floor. (Contractors did most of the work) My original reason I bought the property was to build a garage.
Life has gotten in the way, from doing that!
After my recent open heart surgery I have found new drive.
Since traveling doesn't appeal to me anymore I have decided to get on my bucket list.