Can someone tell me if I'm an idiot?

Author
benjamingreen22
  • Total Posts : 17
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 0
2022/01/21 17:34:05 (permalink)
Greetings everyone,

I wanted to get some input on RAM overclocking. So, I had my PC for almost 3 years and I started learning to overclock the day I finished it. I did a lot of research on CPU overclocking (settings, etc.), and I made some really good progress messing around with that stuff. However, no matter how many articles I read I still can't quite grasp RAM overclocking. Between all the acronyms and numbers it's really hard to absorb much. My question primarily is how can I tell if I have a good overclock? I've read that having a high frequency isn't great if your timings are loose, and vice versa. I currently have 32GB of stock, currently, in BIOS I have it set to 4000mhz(18-21-21-40) @ 1.350 volts. Are these settings terrible? I used Geekbench to benchmark for a baseline, and as I stepped it up the benchmarks were seeing improvements. Essentially, I really do not know where I stand on the "quality" of the overclock.

Also some background information, I have a 9700k currently @ 5.3GHz with the voltage set to 1.4ish. My motherboard is an Aorus Pro z390 with version f9 for the bios. I have ample cooling on the CPU with a 360mm NZXT AIO. Is there anything I can do to make this overclock a quality one? I would appreciate some feedback and opinions if I can make this RAM have higher improvements. I appreciate any help or information I can get, thanks!!

CPU:i7 9700K @ 5.4GHz
Motherboard: Aorus PRO z390
RAM: TridentZ 32GB @ 3866Mhz
GPU: EVGA RTX 3080 FTW Ultra FHR (Hybrid Kit)
COOLING: NZXT Kraken X72 360mm
STORAGE: 970 EVO (500GB,1TB)

4 Replies Related Threads

transdogmifier
    CLASSIFIED ULTRA Member
    • Total Posts : 6116
    • Ribbons : 17
    Re: Can someone tell me if I'm an idiot? 2022/01/21 17:50:35 (permalink)
    RAM Overclocking is confusing for me too.....so I'm watching this thread!