EVGA

New Build: Carious Legion - Watercooled Quad GTX 680 SLI Setup

Author
seeker7125
  • Total Posts : 42
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 1
2013/01/15 09:15:18 (permalink)
Welcome to my rig in-progress: The Carious Legion!
So I'm new to the EVGA forums! I had formally kept my rig builds to myself because I built them more for fun, less for bench-marking and showing off . A little intro: I'm a dental student studying in Detroit, USA and living in Canada. I am a big fan of water-cooling and voiding warranties for the sake of pushing limits (when I have the cash to fix the problems that ensue hahaha). My parents are engineers so I've always liked tinkering, and my hands-on work with computers had a large impact on my choice of future career. I've made several water-cooled units in the past, usually very EVGA heavy in parts, so I figure why not post my next one here! 
The current build in progress is The Carious Legion, a play on the term "carious lesion" (aka. A tooth cavity). 
The plans for it are still ever-changing, but the goal is essentially a quad SLI unit that has everything that is worth cooling under water. Whether or not I will use two loops or one is a topic of discussion amongst some peers, and I'm still deciding on that. I'll be using a dual loop system, one for GPU, and one for CPU/MOSFET/etc.
The Expected System Specifications:
- ASUS Rampage IV Extreme LGA 2011 Intel X79 SATA 6G
- Intel Core i7-3960X Extreme Edition Hexa-Core
- Corsair Dominator 32GB (8x4GB) DDR3 2133 MHz
- (4x) GeForce GTX 680 Classified 4 GB DDR5
- CoolerMaster Cosmos II (Corsair 900D pre-ordered as replacement)
- Corsair Neutron Series GTX 240GB (6Gb/s) SATA 3 (OS Drive)
- Western Digital Caviar Black 2 TB 64 MB Cache, 7200 RPM (Storage Drive)
- EVGA SuperNOVA NEX1500 Classified Power Supply
- (2x) ASUS PB Series PB238QR 23-Inch Screen LED-lit Monitor
- Razer DeathStalker Ultimate with Switchblade UI
- Razer Ouroboros Gaming Mouse

The Expected System Cooling Set-up