EVGA

RMA 980Ti SC replacement- any field for discussion?

Author
Twrzkb
  • Total Posts : 2
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 0
2017/11/16 10:13:22 (permalink)
This is my first post on this forum, so i would like to say hello to everyone. Sorry in advance for my bad english.

I have been using EVGA graphic cards for many years- since EVGA GTX 780 SC.
Since the premiere of series 9xxx, I had a great EVGA 980Ti SC with original EVGA backplate and fullcover water block. This card was perfect- performance better than GTX 1070, cool temps and great look. Unfortunately, I had to RMA this card. Everything was really quick and EVGA decided to replace my card for GTX 1080 Founders Edition.

"Wow, nice!", I thought, but then I realized that in this situation I will have to buy a new fullcover water block and backplate, which will fit the GTX 1080FE. I did a quick research and it turned out that, for example, EKWB block fits all 10xx series cards with reference design. Including 1080Ti...
So I started to think about an upgrade. I have sent to EVGA Customer Service a following question:

"Is it possible to change the 08G-P4-6180-KR (GTX 1080 FE) model to 11G-P4-6390-KR (GTX 1080Ti FE). I can pay the extra cost of course. It will be a real step further, from Ti to Ti and the card will last for longer period of time. In the future it will also be an opportunity to buy the second EVGA card and come back to SLI, like 2x EVGA GTX 780 I had few years ago."

After sending this e-mail I received the automated reply with information, that EVGA had send the 1080FE card. Do you guys think this kind of replacement is possible?

I look forward to hearing your opinion.

2 Replies Related Threads

EVGATech_AdamB
    FTW Member
    • Total Posts : 1930
    • Ribbons : 4
    Re: RMA 980Ti SC replacement- any field for discussion? 2017/11/16 10:18:31 (permalink)