EVGA

Helpful ReplyConfused about Clock Speed & Precision X1 Scan.

Page: 12 > Showing page 1 of 2
Author
sturmbelial
  • Total Posts : 18
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 0
2019/03/11 07:17:58 (permalink)
Guys,

So I finally got my EVGA RTX 2080 Ti Ultra Hybrid setup in my system. 
I'm a little confused about 2 separate things (and please bear with me, I'm not a total n00b but I'm not an expert in these matters either.

Boost Clock:
When I look at the specs for this card anywhere, I see "Boost Clock: 1755Mhz" and "Memory Clock: 14000 Mhz". However, when I open Precision X1, it shows me "Clock: 1350Mhz" and "Memory: 7000Mhz". I do understand that is the "Base" speeds for memory & clock. So my question, do I need to do anything to get the 1755 Mhz Clock & 14000 Memory? Or does it happen automagically when you're using the graphics card, for example, while playing a game?
If the latter is true, and you do in fact get the boost clocks speeds when the card is being utilized by a game, is there a way for me to check what Clock & Memory speeds I'm getting while playing a game, like an overlay or something? I use the Nvidia Geforce Experience for the Frame Rate overlay (as Steam Big Picture doesn't support the Frame Rate). Is there something like that which will also show me Clock & Memory speeds using a keyboard shortcut?

Precision X1 Overclocking:
I waned to achieve very simple & basic auto overclocking. I saw a couple of Precision X1 overview videos floating around on YouTube. Essentially I raised the "Target" tab values to max (120% Power Target / 87C GPU Temp), then switched over to the VF Curve Tuner, then hit "Scan". After the Scan completed, that little "Score" box changed to "+63" instead of "0". Then I hit "Apply", then I hit "Save".

After that when I look in the top header "Memory / CPU / Target" tab, I don't see any change from my default values. They still show what they always show me.

Essentially nothing changed after the whole "Scan" exercise.