3080 TI Monitors shutting off randomly

Author
SSJVegeter
  • Total Posts : 3
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 0
2024/08/16 16:39:28 (permalink)
Hello all,

I've never had an issue with any of my EVGA cards, and I've been using a 3080 TI for a couple years now very lightly. I've never had an issue until around 2 weeks ago. Randomly, usually when nothing is happening, my two monitors will suddenly go black. No disconnect sound or anything, but it does seem like they are losing the DP signal.

Unfortunately, I have had a number of moving parts lately, and I'm not sure where to narrow it down.

-I migrated my build into a Hyte Y60 case. Stayed with the same components other than adding an additional RGB controller and SSD. I am using a corsair 1000HX PSU, running 2 NVME drives, 2 HDDs, one SATA SSD, and the 3080 TI. Everything seemed to go well after the switch, no issues but then...

-I added a new MSI Freesync monitor. Now I use two DP ports on the 3080 TI
-I also updated the 3080 TI drivers for the first time in a few months. I'm wondering if this is a driver issue, because I can't see how it's a power issue, since it happens when literally at the desktop running nothing. I did reseat the PCIE power cables in the GPU just to be safe.

I can't narrow down if this is a power issue, driver issue, settings issue, Freesync issue (I've read it can cause problems)...

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! I've seen this issue online but usually with more significant issues, such as full PC crash and the like. I also noticed an uptick in the last couple months from what I can see, which leads me to believe possible bad drivers.

6 Replies Related Threads

Hoggle
    EVGA Forum Moderator
    • Total Posts : 8876
    • Ribbons : 4
    Re: 3080 TI Monitors shutting off randomly 2024/08/16 16:51:23 (permalink)