EVGA

Wondering about the 3080 hybrid with this case layout

Author
Kershek
  • Total Posts : 7
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 0
2020/09/15 12:49:46 (permalink)
 Looking for advice, please.  I have been running the 2080 FTW3 Hybrid for 15 months now with no pump noises or issues that I can tell.  The card runs wonderfully cool at full load and I would like to get a 3080 Hybrid when it's available and pass this one down to my son.

As you can see in the photo, due to the inverse nature of my Corsair 600Q case, the AIO tubes are at a downward angle.  Now, I've heard the 3080 Hybrid will need 240mm for its radiator block.  For my case, this would require removing the fans on the bottom and putting the radiator there, since the CPU radiator takes the front position.

Two questions: 
1) Since I don't seem to have an issue with my current card, would it be ok to install the 3080 radiator at the bottom?
2) Would the 3080 AIO Hybrid radiator hoses even be long enough to get to the bottom of the case?

post edited by Kershek - 2020/09/15 12:53:01

Attached Image(s)

4 Replies Related Threads

Kershek
    Re: Wondering about the 3080 hybrid with this case layout 2020/09/16 14:09:53 (permalink)
    Ok, so I've done more research and have come to the conclusion that my inverse case sub-optimal for multiple AIOs due to radiator placement choices.  While my CPU AIO radiator is positioned correctly, the 2080 hybrid positions the radiator below the pump built into the card where air in the line would sit. In my case, I'm having no issues with cooling: the 15 month old card runs in a custom O/C setup with MSI Afterburner, never gets above 61c at full load, and is whisper quiet.