EVGA

Overclocking: And the point is...?

Author
jimmoore7777
  • Total Posts : 6
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 0
2013/10/12 07:36:48 (permalink)
Yes, it's probably a stupid question. I am by no means an expert.
I just finished building a system (my first build in four years) based on the X79 Dark and it passed a very important (to me) test, encoding HD video about five times faster than my old machine. So I am happy. Probably spent too much on some components (like the $350 PCI RAID card and SAS to SATA cable running a set of WD VelociRaptors because I was too cheap to spring for a 1TB SSD at this point)... but it does what I had hoped it would (encode video, and other edit tasks, a LOT faster than my old computer).
Now, I consider overclocking, which I haven't really messed with before. I'm still using the stock settings on a (six-core) Intel i7 4930K at 3.4GHz. I have 32 GB of G.Skill Trident X on board (DDR3 2400, happily timed with a good XMP profile in the BIOS - thanks EVGA!), and I already rip through tasks pretty fast, as noted above. 
For cooling, I have a Corsair H80i water cooler on the CPU, and temps don't seem to be an issue: nowhere in the system do I see temps above 85 F, even during encoding or other intensive operations. (It's all in a Rosewill Blackhawk full tower, which comes with 8 fans and lots of room around the components... nice cable management, too). Video is handled by a pair of GTX 680s (SLI enabled), and there seems to be plenty of power, there. (N.B. each card covers three slots, so I only have one more PCI slot to work with, the x8 that handles my RAID card.)
So, before I start monkeying with overclocking this beast, I thought to pose a really basic question: will overclocking make a difference in the primary mission for this box, namely HD video editing? Should I expect faster completion of tasks? Will it make the CPU run too hot for the H80i liquid cooler to keep up with?