2021/08/28 03:23:17
kandiflippin
Hey everyone, so I am having some issues setting up SLI for the first time and am a little confused with the PCIe lane distribution. The manual is extremely vague and I am starting to second guess everything I thought I knew about PCIe. I’ll start with the PC specs.

CPU - 10700k
Mobo - Z590 FTW, BIOS is 1.04 (I did just see a new update was released and will update when I’m home)
GPUs - Dual 3090 KPE
Memory - GSkill Ripjaws 2x16gb 3600/cl14
Storage - 1tb Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 (Center/80mm slot), 2tb 970 Evo Plus M.2 (Bottom/110mm slot)
Other - Aquacomputer Aquaero 6 and NEXT flow sensor plugged into the USB 3.2 Gen1 port, no SATA devices or any other headers are being used
OS - Windows 10 Home with a fresh install of everything.

Please bear with me as I am still learning and this is my first time having to worry about running out of PCIe lanes. As of right now GPUz is showing GPU1 at x8 and GPU2 at x1.1. From my understanding I should have x16 lanes from the CPU that is only being used by the PCIe slots and x24 PCH lanes for all the various other components. I thought the bottom 2 M.2 slots used the PCH lanes and the top slot used the CPU lanes (with rocket lake). Am I mistaken and these all use the CPU lanes or do I need to start figuring out why I’m not getting the full x16 at the PCIe slots?
2021/08/28 05:06:14
B0baganoosh
Did you update your bios? They made some specific improvements for sli.

You are correct in your understanding that you should be able to run both cards at x8. Did you try reseating them in the slots? (at least tte second one)

One other thing to consider is that gpuz will show the lane numbers "downclocked" when they are not in use. What does it say in the bios menu?
2021/08/28 05:35:25
rjohnson11
According to page 16 and 17 of the manual your PCI-E slots split to 8x when two video cards are installed.