2017/10/31 18:42:39
Reithas
Hello, I've never posted on these forums before, and I'm not an expert on the particulars of PC building. I consider myself an average PC builder at best, though I've never had any issues with my build or GPU until I upgraded from Windows 7 to Windows 10 last year.

The issue I'm having is that intermittently while gaming (any game it seems) my monitor will randomly crash to a black screen and not recover, forcing me to hard boot my machine. Some games it almost never happens, others I may see 5-20 minutes of game-play before the crash occurs. I've tried clean booting, clean installs of drivers, rolling back to previous drivers, changing slots, and nothing seems to make a difference. My temps are always in the green and I run everything at factory clock speeds.

What more can I do to see if the card is actually the issue or not? I'm at my wits end.

A very brief overview of my specs:

Asus Maximus VI Hero
Intel Core i7-4770k @ 3.5 GHz
Corsair h100i cooler
GTX 980 FTW ACX 2.0
16 GB Ram @ 1333 MHz
Corsair HX 1050 PSU

Thanks in advance.

2017/10/31 20:51:58
Sajin
Are you using a displayport cable? If yes, is it vesa certified? When crashing to the black screen do the fans on your gpu go to 100%?
2017/10/31 22:10:59
Reithas
I'm currently using a typical HDMI cable from my monitor to the GPU. And no, when crashing the fan speed stays the same.
2017/10/31 22:36:22
Sajin
Does the issue occur over dvi & displayport? How old is your psu? Does underclocking the card -500 on both the core & memory prevent the black screen from occurring?

Note: Use msi afterburner for the underclocking.
2017/11/01 14:05:23
Samsander
We have been over this 1000 times. There is no magic solution to make it work at advertised FTW clocks. Early 980 FTW's have issues. RMA the card.