EVGA

can evga micro2 support e5 2667 V4 broadwell 2011v3,25mb cpu cache.8core 16thread.

Author
xuanbing
New Member
  • Total Posts : 5
  • Reward points : 0
  • Joined: 2017/03/20 19:39:36
  • Status: offline
  • Ribbons : 0
2017/03/20 19:44:39 (permalink)
can evga micro2 support exon e5 2667 V4?the intel exon cpu is similar to yet better than e5 2667 V3,which is listed in the motherboard support menu.
post edited by xuanbing - 2017/03/20 20:05:29
#1

10 Replies Related Threads

    EVGATech_MDecker
    EVGA Tech Support
    • Total Posts : 1549
    • Reward points : 0
    • Joined: 2015/09/21 17:32:43
    • Location: RwlRwlRwlRwl
    • Status: offline
    • Ribbons : 4
    can evga micro2 support e5 2667 V4 broadwell 2011v3,25mb cpu cache.8core 16thread. 2017/03/20 19:46:03 (permalink)
    Hello,
     
    all of our x99 platform motherboards will support LGA 2011-3 XEON chips as long as the motherboard has the latest bios revision.
     
    Please let us know if you have any additional questions.

    (つ◕౪◕)つ━☆゚.*・。゚X99Micro2 | 5960X | 1080Ti 。゚・*.☆゚
    #2
    xuanbing
    New Member
    • Total Posts : 5
    • Reward points : 0
    • Joined: 2017/03/20 19:39:36
    • Status: offline
    • Ribbons : 0
    can evga micro2 support e5 2667 V4 broadwell 2011v3,25mb cpu cache.8core 16thread. 2017/03/20 19:58:52 (permalink)
    EVGATech_MDecker
    Hello,
     
    all of our x99 platform motherboards will support LGA 2011-3 XEON chips as long as the motherboard has the latest bios revision.
     
    Please let us know if you have any additional questions.


    I am sorry about the chinese title .the English translation is just the same with below.
    I have tested the cpu on my evga micro2,but it can not be recognized by the motherboard,evga micro 2.The debug code presents "cd",which means cpu error.    I am quietly sure of that the cpu and the motherboard is fine,which have been tested by replaced cpu or motherboard . So what's the prblem.?the BIOS version is 2.02.
    thanks
    #3
    EVGATech_MDecker
    EVGA Tech Support
    • Total Posts : 1549
    • Reward points : 0
    • Joined: 2015/09/21 17:32:43
    • Location: RwlRwlRwlRwl
    • Status: offline
    • Ribbons : 4
    Re: can evga micro2 support e5 2667 V4 broadwell 2011v3,25mb cpu cache.8core 16thread. 2017/03/20 21:17:02 (permalink)
    xuanbing
    EVGATech_MDecker
    Hello,
     
    all of our x99 platform motherboards will support LGA 2011-3 XEON chips as long as the motherboard has the latest bios revision.
     
    Please let us know if you have any additional questions.


    I am sorry about the chinese title .the English translation is just the same with below.
    I have tested the cpu on my evga micro2,but it can not be recognized by the motherboard,evga micro 2.The debug code presents "cd",which means cpu error.    I am quietly sure of that the cpu and the motherboard is fine,which have been tested by replaced cpu or motherboard . So what's the prblem.?the BIOS version is 2.02.
    thanks




    Hello,
     
    try clearing CMOS. If the issue persists, check socket for bent pins. If there are no bent pins, try another power supply as a faulty PSU can also cause C post code errors.

    (つ◕౪◕)つ━☆゚.*・。゚X99Micro2 | 5960X | 1080Ti 。゚・*.☆゚
    #4
    xuanbing
    New Member
    • Total Posts : 5
    • Reward points : 0
    • Joined: 2017/03/20 19:39:36
    • Status: offline
    • Ribbons : 0
    Re: can evga micro2 support e5 2667 V4 broadwell 2011v3,25mb cpu cache.8core 16thread. 2017/03/20 23:09:41 (permalink)
    All what you say have been tried. The code still is cd.I think no part is broken.could the cpu cache be the problem?
     
    Intel® X99 Chipset
    • Supports up to 16 CPU threads (8-core)
    • First desktop platform to support DDR4 memory
    • Up to 40 PCI-E 3.0 lanes
    • Native SATA 6.0Gb/s & USB 3.0
    • Up to 20MB CPU Cache on 8 Core CPU
     
     
    The official discription says evga micro 2 support up to 20MB CPU Cache on 8 Core CPU.  While e5 2667 V4 has 25mb cpu cache. As I know ,the cpu cache does not concerned with the motherboard.
    How could a motherboard limit the max cpu cache?
    #5
    xuanbing
    New Member
    • Total Posts : 5
    • Reward points : 0
    • Joined: 2017/03/20 19:39:36
    • Status: offline
    • Ribbons : 0
    Re: can evga micro2 support e5 2667 V4 broadwell 2011v3,25mb cpu cache.8core 16thread. 2017/03/20 23:59:40 (permalink)
    here the official description and the debug code。
    post edited by xuanbing - 2017/03/21 00:04:18

    Attached Image(s)

    #6
    EVGATech_MDecker
    EVGA Tech Support
    • Total Posts : 1549
    • Reward points : 0
    • Joined: 2015/09/21 17:32:43
    • Location: RwlRwlRwlRwl
    • Status: offline
    • Ribbons : 4
    Re: can evga micro2 support e5 2667 V4 broadwell 2011v3,25mb cpu cache.8core 16thread. 2017/03/26 16:20:10 (permalink)
    xuanbing
    here the official description and the debug code。




    Hello,
     
    Sorry for the delayed reply. I have forwarded your thread to our Product Management team for review. Thank you for your patience.

    (つ◕౪◕)つ━☆゚.*・。゚X99Micro2 | 5960X | 1080Ti 。゚・*.☆゚
    #7
    EVGATech_DaveB
    EVGA Tech Support
    • Total Posts : 4759
    • Reward points : 0
    • Joined: 2008/09/26 17:03:47
    • Status: offline
    • Ribbons : 43
    Re: can evga micro2 support e5 2667 V4 broadwell 2011v3,25mb cpu cache.8core 16thread. 2017/03/27 09:22:36 (permalink)
    We have not certified this CPU for our X99 boards, only the older v3 variant.  I can submit this to the motherboard/BIOS team for review, however I cannot guarantee a timeline.
    #8
    arestavo
    CLASSIFIED Member
    • Total Posts : 3453
    • Reward points : 0
    • Joined: 2008/02/06 06:58:57
    • Location: Through the Scary Door
    • Status: offline
    • Ribbons : 16
    Re: can evga micro2 support e5 2667 V4 broadwell 2011v3,25mb cpu cache.8core 16thread. 2017/03/27 10:41:35 (permalink)
    EVGATech_DaveB
    We have not certified this CPU for our X99 boards, only the older v3 variant.  I can submit this to the motherboard/BIOS team for review, however I cannot guarantee a timeline.


    So that's why EVGA never updated their QVL. Sad.

    EVGA affiliate code: 9ZWDWFNW6A
    (Don't forget to upload your invoice or no credit is given!)
     
    FOLD ON

    #9
    xuanbing
    New Member
    • Total Posts : 5
    • Reward points : 0
    • Joined: 2017/03/20 19:39:36
    • Status: offline
    • Ribbons : 0
    Re: can evga micro2 support e5 2667 V4 broadwell 2011v3,25mb cpu cache.8core 16thread. 2017/03/28 03:05:09 (permalink)
    How could the cpu cache  be related to the motherboard?  Does anyone konw it?
    E5 2620 V4 is working fine with the evga micro 2 now.
    #10
    HeavyHemi
    Omnipotent Enthusiast
    • Total Posts : 11384
    • Reward points : 0
    • Joined: 2008/11/28 20:31:42
    • Location: Western Washington
    • Status: offline
    • Ribbons : 59
    Re: can evga micro2 support e5 2667 V4 broadwell 2011v3,25mb cpu cache.8core 16thread. 2017/03/28 11:45:35 (permalink)
    xuanbing
    How could the cpu cache  be related to the motherboard?  Does anyone konw it?
    E5 2620 V4 is working fine with the evga micro 2 now.




    It isn't. That a processor characteristic not a limit imposed by the chipset. In other words, the 6950K with 25MB of cache, works. That was the top end processor at the time the board was released. As newer processors hit the market, they didn't update the graphics.

    EVGA  X99 FTWK / i7 6850K 4.5ghz 1.35v
    32GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB DDR4 3200
      GTX 1080 FE / GTX 980Ti for PhysX
    Samsung 850Pro 256GB SSD / 2x WD RE4 Black 2TB 
    Corsair H100i V2 / Corsair AX1200 / Window 10 Pro
    #11
    Jump to:
  • Back to Mobile