Z20 Review

Author
B0baganoosh
CLASSIFIED Member
  • Total Posts : 2366
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 39
2021/03/02 13:27:59 (permalink)
I've posted some of this information elsewhere, but thought I'd put together some more thoughts for folks here as I've had a little bit more use with it. Currently, I've only played BF:V, Valheim, and Raft with this keyboard, but also used it for various web browsing and general computer usage thus far. I've had it for about 2 weeks. Overall, I definitely like it.

I'll start with a little background on mechanical keyboards for those of you who, like me, have not had one before:
I've been gaming for many years, but I never had a mechanical keyboard like this. The Z20 is optical-mechanical, but it still has the same type of physical design/movement (the actual switch actuation is made optically instead of through mechanical contacts though). If you've never had a mechanical-switch keyboard before, you should do some research on that to see if you're willing to deal with the trade-offs. There are benefits to mechanical style that are worth it for many gamers, but if you had to do a ton of typing, I'd be pretty hesitant to go with a keyboard like this due to the noise it makes. Just to be clear, this noise is not a problem with EVGA's keyboard specifically, it is just a byproduct of the mechanical switch keyboards in general. Some other videos to help: video1video2 (he says "PCB Board" at some point *shudders in EE*...sorry...he has some great info after that). This is a loud keyboard. There are louder keyboards out there and I don't think it is unusually loud for a mechanical keyboard, but again, if you've never had one before, be prepared.

On to Pros: