EVGA

Question from a laptop full-time user & casual player: Should I buy EVGA SC17?

Author
marcin_k_g
  • Total Posts : 1
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 0
2018/01/28 05:03:49 (permalink)
Hi Guys,

This is my first post on this forum, it is nice to e-meet you! Thanks in advance for reading this post.

Some info about me as a user:
  1. I need a mobile machine - I travel from time to time. At the same time, I like a tank-like, heavy duty, but also relatively slim builds.
  2. I work a lot with text editors, and read a lot, so 17,3" screen is a must.
  3. I currently own Dell Precision M6400, and what I love about it is its longevity and reliability. I have been using it extensively for the past 7 years,, 7 days a week, over 10 hours a day, and it never let me down. I cannot stress it enough: I use my laptop for a full-time work, so I need a good, reliable machine. I am looking for something with a lifespan of 5 to 7 years. Especially if I am going to spend so much money on it.
  4. Performance is not that important to me, but I am a casual gamer, and I don't want to be limited by a hardware anymore - my good old Dell is a huge limitation in this respect. I'd like to have something that would let me play AAA titles for next 3 to 5 years. Again: I know I can't expect great performance after using this machine for, let's say, 3 years from now on, but I am not that much into high performance.
OK, so just to wrap it all up: I need a reliable and long-living, portable machine good for both work (mainly with text editors) and some AAA gaming. EVGA SC17 costs a lot (I live in Poland, so the price hurts even more), but since I change laptop every 5-7 years, I am ready to spend such amount of money on a notebook.