EVGA

Precicion ocx cpu temp monitor help pls

Author
FTW Member
  • Total Posts : 1190
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 4
2017/03/06 22:01:12 (permalink)
Hello, just got my brand new machine all done now just doing the last things before i game. I just installed precision ocx and i noticed 2 different cpu temps and im not 100% which one i should be paying attention to. I see one that has cpu temp-1 and the other cpu temp. Also im new to the market as i have not built anything in several years and im using the i7-7700k kaby lake cpu and its not oced at all and im getting those idle temps  which is making me worried. Never seen cpu temps that high on liquid at idle! Temps jumping between 28-39 on the left one (cpu temp-1) and the right one jumps from 37-44 (cpu temp).

I did pea method on the heat sink with arctic silver, never had to reapply thermal past because i did a bad job but this might be my first time doing a bad job who knows. If these temps are normal for this cpu ill be happy but if not i want to fix it by reapplying. So, these temps fine for this day in age on the cpu?

2 Replies Related Threads

Sajin
    EVGA Forum Moderator
    • Total Posts : 49168
    • Ribbons : 199
    Re: Precicion ocx cpu temp monitor help pls 2017/03/06 23:09:28 (permalink)
    I'd consider 20-30's to be normal idle temps. As for which cpu temp is the correct one... I'd say cpu temp without the 1 in it is the correct one.
    bob16314
    Omnipotent Enthusiast
    • Total Posts : 8048
    • Ribbons : 761
    Re: Precicion ocx cpu temp monitor help pls 2017/03/07 01:26:41 (permalink)
    CPU-1 Temperature refers to your processor's physical Core 1 (logical Core 0)..As you will see if your hover your mouse pointer over the lines in the graph area, there will be four lines, along with their temperatures, because you have a four core processor.