Multi-GPU Comeback with Chiplets? Discuss your 2 cents

Author
eduonkhl
Superclocked Member
  • Total Posts : 105
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 0
2021/05/13 15:45:37 (permalink)
I was wondering for a while if Multi-GPU systems may be on a comeback since chiplets rely on a hardware based sollution to split up the work between the chiplets and if latency still would be an issue. Many report that NVLINK, while much better than the "original" SLI, still doesn't feel as smooth and 1% and 0.1% lows tend to confirm that. You think we could finally have multiple chips be working so well in unified fashion that it's indistinguishable from a single GPU setup? You think precious silicon space could be used solely for metadata processing? I hope I'm correct with my understanding of all this, I'm no microchip engineer after all, keep the conversation civilised, have a nice day girls and guys :)

17 Replies Related Threads

XrayMan
    Insert Custom Title Here
    • Total Posts : 73000
    • Ribbons : 115
    Re: Multi-GPU Comeback with Chiplets? Discuss your 2 cents 2021/05/13 21:36:49 (permalink)

Moved to Hardware.

My Affiliate Code: 8WEQVXMCJL

Associate Code: VHKH33QN4W77V6A

&nbsp
    FloodControl
    Superclocked Member
    • Total Posts : 137
    • Ribbons : 1
    Re: Multi-GPU Comeback with Chiplets? Discuss your 2 cents 2021/05/14 12:07:05 (permalink)