Help & Advice from the Forum Gods

Author
Topless_Stang
iCX Member
  • Total Posts : 257
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 0
2021/10/20 11:02:19 (permalink)
I finally got 'A' GPU in.  I wanted a HC 3080, but I could only get my hands on a Hybrid.  I have purchased an EK block & back plate.  I purchased this month from Spartan Cooling here in the US and it is a V2 Block.  I had no idea what the difference was until i came here and started searching...oh the horror stories I read .  I have been building PCs for almost 30 years, but this will be my FIRST water build.  I have always gotten hybrids & rocked an AIO in the past, but I am looking forward to getting my feet wet doing my first custom loop.  Now that I have read some posts and gleaned some tips I know it will be best to do a few things like:
1. Heat up the card prior to removing to help the putty & pads be easier to remove - either heat gun or in a PC
2. Gingerly remove screws (always do)

I also read that replacing the pads is not something everyone agrees on.  I know EK includes some, but some folks end up getting other brands with better heat dissipation.  What do you guys recommend for a first timer?  I need info on pad size/thickness if recommending any 3rd party stuff.  Also, taking apart the hybrid...I can't find instructions anywhere, is it much different than the standard FTW3?  Also, I see that there is thermal putty used on these, if I am not lucky enough to have it stay on the factory cooler how do I get it off - same as thermal grease (alcohol)?  Was planning to install the block on my MB & GPU today, but holding off until I get a few more answers.  Thanks in advance!
post edited by Topless_Stang - 2021/10/27 11:16:36

4 Replies Related Threads

Cool GTX
    EVGA Forum Moderator
    • Total Posts : 31001
    • Ribbons : 122
    Re: Help & Advice from the Forum Gods 2021/10/20 11:12:05 (permalink)
    Moving Overclocking Lab

Home » All Forums » [Computer Hardware & Software] » Overclocking Lab