EVGA

Hot!GTX 760 with Dell Precision T5500

Author
jacekrogh
New Member
  • Total Posts : 4
  • Reward points : 0
  • Joined: 2021/08/11 17:13:03
  • Status: offline
  • Ribbons : 0
2021/08/11 17:38:51 (permalink)
I have an older workstation (Dell Precision T5500) that I put together for audio production a few years ago.  It works great for audio, but I'm trying to upgrade the GPU now.  I have a GTX 760 which has both a 6-pin and an 8-pin power connection.  The t5500 has a 875W PSU (should be more than enough right?) and two 6-pin connections.  I've read posts from others have used the GTX 760 with an adapter in other systems.  I've also seen someone installing a GTX 1080 (single 8-pin connection) into a T5500 using a dual 6-pin to single 8-pin adapter. I have a 6-pin to 8-pin adapter, but I can't get my system to recognize the new GPU.  Is there some other adapter configuration I need?  Please help!
#1

10 Replies Related Threads

    Sajin
    EVGA Forum Moderator
    • Total Posts : 45510
    • Reward points : 0
    • Joined: 2010/06/07 21:11:51
    • Location: Texas, USA.
    • Status: offline
    • Ribbons : 198
    Re: GTX 760 with Dell Precision T5500 2021/08/11 17:44:20 (permalink)
    You running the latest motherboard bios? Does the card light up, or does the fan spin on the card when you turn the computer on? 875w is plenty for that card.

    Want to save 5 to 10% on your next EVGA purchase? Just click on the associates banner to save, or enter the associates code at checkout on your next purchase. If you choose to use my code I want to personally say "Thank You" for using it.
     

     
    #2
    jacekrogh
    New Member
    • Total Posts : 4
    • Reward points : 0
    • Joined: 2021/08/11 17:13:03
    • Status: offline
    • Ribbons : 0
    Re: GTX 760 with Dell Precision T5500 2021/08/11 17:48:41 (permalink)
    The fan spins, but I think that is just powered from the motherboard because it spins even if I the card is not connected to the PSU.  I updated my bios after I got the computer initially, but it's been a while so I'll try that again.  Thanks!
    #3
    jacekrogh
    New Member
    • Total Posts : 4
    • Reward points : 0
    • Joined: 2021/08/11 17:13:03
    • Status: offline
    • Ribbons : 0
    Re: GTX 760 with Dell Precision T5500 2021/08/11 18:12:41 (permalink)
    I've updated the BIOS and it still doesn't recognize it.
    #4
    Sajin
    EVGA Forum Moderator
    • Total Posts : 45510
    • Reward points : 0
    • Joined: 2010/06/07 21:11:51
    • Location: Texas, USA.
    • Status: offline
    • Ribbons : 198
    Re: GTX 760 with Dell Precision T5500 2021/08/11 18:19:16 (permalink)
    Have you tested the card in another known good working system to confirm it works without issues?

    Want to save 5 to 10% on your next EVGA purchase? Just click on the associates banner to save, or enter the associates code at checkout on your next purchase. If you choose to use my code I want to personally say "Thank You" for using it.
     

     
    #5
    jacekrogh
    New Member
    • Total Posts : 4
    • Reward points : 0
    • Joined: 2021/08/11 17:13:03
    • Status: offline
    • Ribbons : 0
    Re: GTX 760 with Dell Precision T5500 2021/08/11 18:24:35 (permalink)
    I haven't personally tested it, but the seller claimed that they had tested it.  So unless they're lying to me (always a possibility), the card should be fine.
    #6
    Sajin
    EVGA Forum Moderator
    • Total Posts : 45510
    • Reward points : 0
    • Joined: 2010/06/07 21:11:51
    • Location: Texas, USA.
    • Status: offline
    • Ribbons : 198
    Re: GTX 760 with Dell Precision T5500 2021/08/11 18:25:43 (permalink)
    Try it in another system and see if it works.

    Want to save 5 to 10% on your next EVGA purchase? Just click on the associates banner to save, or enter the associates code at checkout on your next purchase. If you choose to use my code I want to personally say "Thank You" for using it.
     

     
    #7
    matthatnz
    New Member
    • Total Posts : 31
    • Reward points : 0
    • Joined: 2015/07/24 01:03:57
    • Status: offline
    • Ribbons : 0
    Re: GTX 760 with Dell Precision T5500 2021/08/28 14:58:20 (permalink)
    Fixed yet?
    Yeah agreed, test it in another system or can you borrow a PSU from a friend that has a 6 pin and a 8 pin (native) from its PSU.

    i7 5820k 6 Core
    Gigabyte GA-X99-Gaming G1 WIFI
    EVGA 980 Ti Hybrid
    32GB G.Skill Ripjaws 4 Series 2800 MHZ
    Samsung 850 Evo 512GB
    WD Black 6TB
    Acer  XB280HK 28" 3840 x 2160 UHD 
    800 Watt PSU
    #8
    dadashshn
    New Member
    • Total Posts : 100
    • Reward points : 0
    • Joined: 2021/09/16 21:07:43
    • Status: offline
    • Ribbons : 0
    Re: GTX 760 with Dell Precision T5500 2021/09/18 01:09:47 (permalink)
    This motherboard has a maximum power of 150 watts per slot. try to borrow a board from a friend .
    #9
    ty_ger07
    Insert Custom Title Here
    • Total Posts : 18735
    • Reward points : 0
    • Joined: 2008/04/10 23:48:15
    • Location: traveler
    • Status: offline
    • Ribbons : 215
    Re: GTX 760 with Dell Precision T5500 2021/09/18 07:37:58 (permalink)
    dadashshn
    This motherboard has a maximum power of 150 watts per slot. try to borrow a board from a friend .

    Yeah right! It has double the power available to the slot compared to any other motherboard? Check your numbers.
    #10
    Kasque
    New Member
    • Total Posts : 100
    • Reward points : 0
    • Joined: 2021/09/20 14:36:42
    • Status: offline
    • Ribbons : 0
    Re: GTX 760 with Dell Precision T5500 2021/09/23 01:43:51 (permalink)
    you could try to update the bios bro
    #11
    Jump to:
  • Back to Mobile