EVGA

Random restarts

Author
princessmisery
  • Total Posts : 4
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 0
2020/07/23 22:57:08 (permalink)
Hey all, I've been trying for over a month to solve a random restart issue. I'm not a novice and I can usually solve these issues myself. However this has been plaguing me for so long. My PC will randomly restart. Oddly enough I can re-create this restart easily by sleeping in a bed on Fallout 4.

Things I have done already:
  • Temps are good / Even added new thermal paste
  • Memtest 86 no errors after running overnight for 6 hours.
  • Did stress tests and nothing happened for 30 mins, as soon as I was done with the stress test (both CPU/GPU) it restarted while idle
  • Thought I might be running into some random bug with Win10, so I changed to Win7 to see if I could confirm a hardware issue. It is randomly restarting on both OS.
  • Updated BIOS
  • Used DDU to uninstall GPU/Audio drivers - reinstalled. Tried rolling back as well.
  • Checked  Power Options thoroughly, it is currently on High Performance
  • Updated Win10 until there are no more updates / All drivers updated (including chipset).
  • Clean boot (still does it)
  • Got desperate, completely disassembled my entire system, cleaned, meticulously put everything back together.

The interesting thing is that I can re-create this just by sleeping in that game. I think that's so odd. But other times I can just be browsing online, or even idle at desktop. Another odd thing is that I can't seem to re-create this issue in Safe Mode. I've tried updating drivers, rolling back drivers.. so many things.

PC Info: 

If you need any more info let me know. I'm back on Win10. I haven't noticed anything wrong with my PSU, and what makes me feel like it may not be the PSU is the fact that I have such a good one: EVGA Supernova 750w 80+ Gold.