EVGA SC15 - Please help a noob here!

Author
AleCisla
  • Total Posts : 11
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 0
2020/01/09 23:45:17 (permalink)
Hi guys,

I need someone that could possibly help me with a few things. I'll try to go straight to the point and be as specific as I can:

1- I have to use Precision X Mobile, as I tried that X1 and others, but it's too complicated for me. I'd like to know what is the "best" fan curve for my laptop SC-15? I know this is a general question, but I'd like to know, what is the maximum temperature I can let my CPU and GPU reach? I have one Custom Setting, which I call the "Low" setting, for when the laptop is idle doing nothing, and I have a second setup which I call the "High" setting, that I use when playing games. On my "HIGH" profile, I have setup both CPU and GPU to this values: starting with 50-50, so 50 degrees uses 50% of the fan. Then I incremented in orders of 5%, so 55 degrees - 60%.... 60 degrees - 70%,... 65 deg - 80%, till the last one 70 degrees, 100% fan. Is this too much? Not enough? ... I don't want to let the laptop overheat, but at the same time, I don't want to damage the fans... what do you guys think? What is a reasonable balance between the two, for gaming situations?

2- I'm trying to understand what CPU and GPU frequencies mean and their relation to each other, because I think I'm having some stuttering in my games because they're not syncronized (I know I might be wrong, so please correct me here). I have everything setup correctly, no apps running in the background, all my drivers are updated, all the silly settings from windows are "closed" or "off"... and STILL, I have some stuttering every now and then. I can feel that everything is running ok and smooth most of the time, but why I can't get a constant and permanent flow of my game without that spike every now and then??? How do these people on youtube can play a game for an hour, two hours with no stuttering???