EVGA

Noob learning to use Precision X1, advice? (Windows 7!)

Author
tavernfly
  • Total Posts : 1
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 0
2019/08/21 14:49:34 (permalink)
Hi there! I had a few questions as a total noob when it comes to computer hardware and GPU tuning software, and was hoping to find some advice here on this forum! [And just to get this out of the way first, yes I'm running Precision X1 in Win7, even though it isn't supported, using the "Aero2 Assembly for Windows 7" application I found posted by a moderator of this forum. I've heard all the reasons to change OS, have my reasons for still needing Win7, and for the record I do intend to install Windows 10 on a separate SSD in the future, but that's besides the point of this thread.]

1. I know I'd like to adjust my fan curves, and I'm not entirely sure how to do this, or what to aim for. Noise is a non-issue for me, I'm happy for the fans to be as loud as a jet engine if it helps temperatures, but I also do not want to do anything to push the fans beyond normal use, damage them, or wear them out significantly faster than normal. Any advice in this matter would be greatly appreciated!

2. It looks like my target temp is currently set to 84*C by default. I do not know to what extent the card is pre-overclocked with default settings. I just want the settings to be, y'know, sane, safe for normal use. Any advice in this matter would be appreciated. (For example, my non-EVGA motherboard came with stock settings default enabled to run my intel 8700k CPU at 5.1GHz constantly, even when idle. I discovered this only after using the computer for some time getting things set up, and it freaked me the hell out. I'm very new to all of this, and I just want to make sure my GPU settings are, y'know, sensible, and not suicidal.)