Helpful ReplyZ390 970 Evo and Windows installation

Author
LuDo16
  • Total Posts : 10
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 0
2019/05/18 00:53:02 (permalink)
Hi,
first of all thanks for your help, I'm sure someone here will have the solution to this "ridiculous" issue... 

This is my first build after years so I'm probably a bit rusty... 
I have a Z390 Dark with BIOS to 1.06. 
I have 2 nvme 970 Evo 1x500GB and 1x1TB
I want to put Windows 10 (just created a USB from the Media Creation Tool) to the 500GB. 

Here are the various things I see at first I had both nvme plugged the 500 to the PM1 and 1TB to the PM2. In the BIOS I could only see the 1TB from the nvme configuration list... (but both M2 slots were declared as M2 so U2 and PE3 disabled)
I did not stress over that and I tried to install Windows with I think the UEFI settings and so set properly... 
But Windows installer shows only on drive with 0MB... nothing I can do from there. 

With this I suspected a broken nvme from the box so I removed the 500 same story... then I swapped the 500 instead of the 1000. The 500 is seen in the BIOS as it's now on the PM2... but same issue with the installation of windows... 0MB drive

One thing I noticed by watching this video from eVGA: 
There should be a "UEFI Hard Disk Drive BBS Priorities" menu at some point (4:47 bottom of the screen) but this I only get "UEFI:USB..." if the USB stick for the Windows install is plugged in before accessing the BIOS... is not in then this menu is not visible... 

Somehow I think I'm missing a stupid settings... but what and where... ? 

I'm sure here for many it's just very basic to do and you will sort out this issue I'm having... 

Thanks a lot... 
Cool GTX
EVGA Forum Moderator
  • Total Posts : 30978
  • Ribbons : 122
Re: Z390 970 Evo and Windows installation 2019/05/18 20:35:24 (permalink) ☄ Helpfulby XrayMan 2019/06/03 19:20:52
What CPU ?

What other items have you installed in the MB ?