New to SLI and I feel like my performance is lackluster

Author
ProjectDuke
  • Total Posts : 1
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 0
2019/03/16 08:15:33 (permalink)
Hello all,

I built my first PC in 2015 so I am still new to this world. I currently have an EVGA Hybrid 1080 and an EVGA 1080 FTW in SLI using a HB bridge. I do not have 3dMark so I downloaded Novabench (it was recommended and free) and when doing its tests it told me my performance score was low. I have a i7 7700k (not currently OC'd.)
I feel like my GPU's aren't giving me the performance I should be seeing because I play at 1080p with low to medium settings in FPS games and I am not getting many more frames than if I just run the EVGA Hybrid 1080. Has anyone experienced anything like this? Does anybody have any ideas on how to get better performance (without OC?)
I know the basics of SLI so I am concerned something is wrong with the firmware, hardware, HB bridge or something.

FYI : I have SLI selected in Nvidia control panel. My main card is in the fastest PCIe slot. It is a verified HB Bridge (MSI due to EVGA not producing the right sized HB Bridge for my spacing.) I play games that support SLI (BF4, BFV, R6 Siege and more.) I have a native 1440p monitor that is set to 1080p. I have used the notification bar in Nvidia control panel to verify SLI is being used in games. I am not seeing much FPS difference between low, medium and high graphics settings (maybe 10-25 FPS per level.)

Any and all help would be much appreciated. I have learned one thing already, even though it looks great, going for the 1080ti would have been a better choice.

8 Replies Related Threads

AngryAce
    SSC Member
    • Total Posts : 867
    • Ribbons : 3
    Re: New to SLI and I feel like my performance is lackluster 2019/03/16 08:48:29 (permalink)