krashbandit
  • Total Posts : 5
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 0
2017/11/13 05:17:57 (permalink)
So I built a rig using:
AsRock H81 Pro BTC R2.0 motherboard
Corsair HX1200i power supply
Kingston Value RAM 4gb, 1600mhz pc3-12800 DDR3 (2 of these)
EVGA GTX1070Ti SC (4 of these)
EVGA GTX1070Ti FTW2 (2 of these)
Silicon Power 60GB SSD S55

I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to building mining rigs, but I can't for the life of me figure out why this system won't work.  When using onboard video everything is good to go...Then when I plug in the first GPU it crashes during installation every time(most of the time locking up at startup after restart as well).  I've uninstalled the cards, replaced the powered riser(twice), reinstalled Windows 10, installed the newest version of Windows 10, and talked to Nvidia support last night for over an hour.  I switched out the SC for the FTW2(which has two power inputs) and it fired up.  Then I tried to hook up two of the SC cards and it crashed again...and now it won't even boot as it locks up at the Windows screen and that little spinning thing under the Win icon is frozen.  I had no real trouble booting to BIOS, and told BIOS to search for an update but it didn't find one.  

Any thoughts on what the problem might be?  I'm not sure I can go any further with this, given my level of knowledge.  I figured I'd post on here and see if anyone had any ideas before I just take the computer to someone to fix or just sell the components off.  Thanks in advance for any help.

6 Replies Related Threads

krashbandit
    Re: GTX1070TI problems installing 2017/11/13 08:31:12 (permalink)
    I'm starting to lean towards the AsRock H81 Pro BTC R2.0 motherboard maybe not supporting the GTX1070Ti card yet.  Has anybody successfully installed that card on that mobo before?
    the_Scarlet_one
    formerly Scarlet-tech
    • Total Posts : 24581
    • Ribbons : 79
    Re: GTX1070TI problems installing 2017/11/13 08:42:03 (permalink)