EVGA

LockedDisappointing rma experience

Author
ErikSSB
  • Total Posts : 3
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 0
2018/10/31 01:35:27 (permalink)
I just got my rma back for my gtx 980 which is a reference model. I originally sent it in because I was getting driver crashes when I would play Monster Hunter World. "The application MonsterHunterWorld.exe has been blocked from accessing graphics hardware" I was so sad because about 30 minutes after I started playing I got the same message on the replacement card.

When I first got the error on my original card I followed an article on drivereasy titled "[Solved] Application has been blocked from accessing Graphics hardware Windows 10"

The guide told me to run some tests in command prompt and update my gpu drivers.
I ran all those prompts and it came back clean, so I used DDU and reinstalled the drivers. (without using drivereasy of course)
I was still experiencing problems, so I thought maybe it was my old XFX power supply from 2013. I replaced it with a EVGA 650 G2 since I heard these are pretty good and I still got the same error.
On top of all this my original card was in pretty much perfect condition... I never overclocked it and took super good care of it. The card I got back has scratches on the little Plexiglas window and the sticker that shows the serial number is scuffed up. I'm very unhappy about this because I saved up a long time to pay for my original 980 back then and it was not cheap... ($521 to be exact)
I monitored the 12v rail voltages because while troubleshooting with EVGA they said this could possibly be the issue but everything seems normal.
I know that their policy is to give you back something from the B-Stock but this really just leaves a bad taste in my mouth. I had to pay $25 to ship and insure this thing to evga and be without my computer for the past 2 weeks or so.