EVGA

Custom in-desk build help

Author
codo180
  • Total Posts : 32
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 0
2018/12/03 08:36:57 (permalink)
So I just unloaded my trusty old rig in favor of building an all EVGA 9700k/2080 build. My old rig was housed in a big ol Thermaltake Overseer, this time around now that I have my own house with an office, I want to do a custom case build with the PC housed inside the desk. The original idea is basically to have the PC mounted on its side, or motherboard down flat, with the top of the "case" flush with the surface of the desk, which will also be custom made (master carpenter father :D). There would be a hatch on the top for access. I've never done this kinda thing before, and I want some help from people who know.

I originally envisioned a plexiglass kind of case so that it would be clear, but I'm not sure such a kind exists that I would trust to withstand the heat. Then I've been thinking of taking an old case I have kicking around and just gut it and mount that as I explained, cut holes for extra fans, but that probably isn't gonna look as nice as I'd like. Anyone on the forums have experience with this or any tips on what I should consider in doing this? I've only ordered the ram and storage so far, waiting on the Z390 boards to come out still anyway. Thanks 

3 Replies Related Threads

Cool GTX
    EVGA Forum Moderator
    • Total Posts : 30975
    • Ribbons : 122
    Re: Custom in-desk build help 2018/12/03 08:41:38 (permalink)
    Welcome to the EVGA Forums

There are several builds like this ..., check the Mods Rigs builds of others

by default the bottom of the page shows last 30 days .... you can click & select a longer period of time

Here is one:     https://forums.evga.com/FindPost/2684793

ALSO...... check here      https://www.modsrigs.com/search.aspx

select "Search by - Case"  "desk" in search box,  click search button

18 results pop up