Author
Stenna85
  • Total Posts : 4
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 0
2020/06/04 23:38:54 (permalink)
Hi,

Please help

I am a novice when it comes to PC building (built my first one 6 months ago)

since building it I have been slowly upgrading components.

My final upgrade was my GPU this last night and now I fear I have damaged my PC.

My PC was working fine until I swapped my GPU. I now do not have any signal going to the screen nor do my usb outlets work so my keyboard and mouse don’t seem to come on.

pc specs:
MB- MSI MPG X570 gaming pro carbon WiFi.
CPU- AMD Ryzen 9 3900X (upgraded a month ago)
PSU- Corsair RM 850x
RAM- 2 x 16GB vengeance pro
Old GPU was- AMD Radeon rx 5700 xt and was swapped out for EVGA nvdia rtx 2080 ti ftw3 ultra
Keyboard- razer huntsman elite
Mouse- razer
Monitor- MSI

the pc was working fine. I unplugged everything, used an anti static band. Changed the GPU (put it in the 1st slot as stated) and now there’s no signal to monitor nor do I have power to mouse or keyboard. Fans run on system, RGB comes on, one fan runs on GPU, PSU fan starts but then stops running but I guess that’s because the PC is idle.

things I’ve tried.

old GPU, fans run but still no signal.
different monitor
Using hdmi cable directly from MB
Checked PCIe cables
No error light on MB
VGA and hdmi cable from GPU
Taken bios battery out
Checked all connections

ive tried everything I can think of except for taking the whole thing apart and putting it back together again. There are no error LEDs coming up on the MOBO either.

All the lighting and the one fan is working but I get no signal to my monitor. I’ve tried plugging the DisplayPort cable in to all slots and none of them will display to my monitor.

I have 2 - 8 Pin connectors plugged in and my PSU is 850w. When I power the system up the fan seems to come in the PSU then stops, not sure if that’s because it’s not hot?

Any and all help would be massively appreciated

7 Replies Related Threads

bob16314