EVGA

Problems with the LEDs on EVGA GTX 780 Classified.

Author
spence2000
  • Total Posts : 6
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 0
2014/02/26 05:48:07 (permalink)
Hi there,

I bought the EVGA GTX 780 Classified a few months back, and can't seem to get any program to turn off the LEDs on the side of it.

Neither the program posted here on the EVGA forums last year, or Nvidia experience works when I try to turn them off.

Now, those LEDs are *REALLY* bright, and my PC is in my bedroom and doesn't get turned off at night as it's got various scheduled systems that run overnight (I'm a games developer). The damned thing lights up my whole room!

So, how do I turn them off?

I mean, there's no way an engineer at EVGA would design and produce a £400+ gfx card where you _COULDNT_ turn them off. That'd be such appalling design that they should be sacked for it. So they must be able to be turned off some how. I just can't find out how!

Please help!

Thanks.

11 Replies Related Threads

trabe3
    FTW Member
    • Total Posts : 1203
    • Ribbons : 8
    Re: Problems with the LEDs on EVGA GTX 780 Classified. 2014/02/26 06:15:48 (permalink)
    They don't turn off.  This has been posted many times and there is no way to do it.  Best you can do it take some tape and cover them or use a darker colored marker to darken them. 

The LEDs are actually diagnostic in that they each are an indicator for a particular voltage point on the PCB.  I posted this a few weeks ago and I can dig it up, but if you do a quick search you should be able to find.  If one of the LEDs was not lit, that means there is a problem with something on the card.

[edit]  I believe the post I am talking about was in regards to a 770 Classified but same LED configuration as the 780.
    post edited by trabe3 - 2014/02/26 06:24:02

System #1
    ASUS RIV BE
    4930K 4.5GHz - Kraken X60 push/pull
    16Gb Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
    EVGA 780 Classified SLI - Pro SLI Bridge
    Corsair AX1200i