Page: 1234 > Showing page 1 of 4
Author
The1stCAV
iCX Member
  • Total Posts : 259
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 6
2011/10/13 12:50:05 (permalink)
I originally posted Frank and his EVGA parts on here a few weeks past - however considering he just went through 5 days of rebuilding, I felt it was almost fitting for a new thread considering I had to purchase a new case (I messed up the ld one trying to repaint it), and in the process I basically rebuilt Frank with a totally different contrast in visuals compared to what he was before.  So I tried to not write a book but give a basic overview of my thoughts and intentions for this build. 

I began a journey into extreme PC building back in Feb of 2011.  I didn’t want to just create another powerful PC (I have been building PC's since 1998 for personal use/gaming, but nothing at this level), but one that not only had some serious beefy hardware, but also contained visually stunning imagery of craftsmanship and planned precision.  Being that I am not really a metal worker, nor do I have the tools/talent for such a task, I am not too much into making some off the wall outrageous cases or case modifications.  There is plenty of talent out there to fill our screens with old clocks turned PC and so on. 

What I was looking to build was something powerful, clean, classy, but with enough flair that this was a one of a kind build in many ways.  So with that plan, I had two goals when I finally “finished” Frank.  I have drooled over the rigs at MDPC and the level of beauty that those kinds of builds boast.  I wanted Frank to be considered as an MDPC one day if possible.  The second was the cover of CPU magazine.  Now that I have “finished” – wish me luck as I am going to begin preparing to take pictures and submit and see if all this work, time and persistence ends in success and in a fulfillment of my goals.