EVGA

Helpful ReplySystem won't power on when VGU has power

Author
NoobieMe
  • Total Posts : 5
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 0
2015/08/07 21:49:06 (permalink)
Okay so, admittedy, I'm a Newb. I just built my first system and everything is working fine, except that if I have the 8-pin power connected to my GPU and try to turn the PC on, it won't power up. The card does feel like it's sitting loosely in the mobo, but try as I might, it won't clamp down any harder. I have tried different power cords but nothing seems to work. The system just flashes on for about a nanosecond, and then nothing. As soon as I unplug the 8-pin power cable to the GPU, everything boots up fine.  PLEASE HELP!!!!!! I need to start gaming!!!  Please?!?

CPU: i7 4790k
Mobo: Asus Maximus VII Hero
GPU: EVGA 04G-P4-3975-KR GeForce GTX 970 SSC ACX 2.0+ 4GB 256-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 SLI Support
PSU: EVGA Supernova 750 G2
sahafiec
FTW Member
  • Total Posts : 1344
  • Ribbons : 7
Re: System won't power on when VGU has power 2015/08/07 21:57:58 (permalink)
you are using 2 cables from the 6pin+2pin ones right?
one connected to GPU1 and the other to GPU2 connector of the PSU?

how loosely is the card sitting on your motherboard, can you post a picture?
actually it should sit just about right tight there.
post edited by sahafiec - 2015/08/07 22:03:53

i5 6600k | z170 m8g | bequiet pure rock | gtx1070 FTW | 2x8gb 2666mhz | 250gb m.2 & 2tb | 650W P2 | Enthoo Pro M Acrylic | pb258q

SiAScORCH
SSC Member
  • Total Posts : 783
  • Ribbons : 2
Re: System won't power on when VGU has power 2015/08/07 22:04:43 (permalink)
Which slot do you have the card in on the motherboard, make sure it's the top as that's the primary slot. Also you can use screws to secure the card so it's not loose but I don't think that's your problem.

Another thing maybe the cord you're using isn't the right one, or could be defective somehow. Last but not least I know that some motherboards you have to update the bios.