EVGA

Optimizing my GTX 970 SSC ACX 2.0+

Author
Bakala
  • Total Posts : 2
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 0
2015/07/05 16:45:25 (permalink)
Hi, i'm a novice when it comes to computers, just recently finished my first build, i'll post the specs for background as it might help in answering my questions. Sorry if it's a bit long, thanks for your time in advance. 

CPU: i5-4590
GPU: GTX 970 SSC ACX 2.0+
RAM: 8GB
Case: Cooler Master Elite 130

I have several matters i'd like to address.

- Whenever i try to play a game for the first time, my TV monitor goes dark and says "no support", when i push the windows key on the keyboard, it takes me to the desktop and i can hear the game running in the background. All of this is always fixed when i go to Geforce Experience and optimize the settings. I've asked someone i know about this and they suggested it might have to do with using a TV and not a monitor, any other ideas/suggestions as to why this is happening? I hope i don't run across a game that Geforce Experience doesn't recognize...

- What sort of things should i look after when trying to optimize my GPU? When in the desktop (i.e. using some light programs,) MSI afterburner typically reads GPU1 temperature to be anywhere from 36-45 degrees Celsius. I was told by someone i know that generally, these numbers are good considering the fans don't really spin in these types of conditions (they twitch i've noticed) and that temperatures will likely not go above 80 when gaming.

I've played 3 games so far and i don't believe the GPU has gone above 70 degrees. 

Can i get some "definitive" information on temperature knowledge/management? Does this sound normal considering the context (case, etc)?