EVGA

Help! Bought EVGA GTX 980 TI ACX 2.0 SC+ with Backplate, now confused.

Author
RedBasilisk
  • Total Posts : 7
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 0
2015/08/30 13:29:21 (permalink)
Hello all!

This is my first time on the forum and I am a first time EVGA user. I am setting up a new computer and I have bought my first EVGA graphics card ever which is GTX TI 980 acx 2.0 sc+ (and this is the very first component I have bought for my new rig. Others are on the way :). I decided to buy this card due to the reviews I read online about it. It is a pretty popular card and I have heard that EVGA brand is awesome.

However I got confused a little after looking at the other 980 ti models like classified, hybrid, kingpin etc. Now my question is do I really need the overclocking capability of these cards or is this card enough for me to play games on ultra settings on 1080p? I don't intend to move to 4k now but I might soon. I am not a crazy over clock maniac but what I am concerned about is, the price for classified for example is only a $20 more than the one I have. Is it really worth it or will this card last enough for me providing enough satisfaction over the next years?

Also how would you guys compare EVGA 980 ti WITH MSI and Gigabyte's versions? I know that EVGA has the least stock speed among these but is 100mhz really going to matter? How much more fps would I gain and in the long term which is the best? I just want my money to worth it in the best way. I'd really appreciate your help.
post edited by RedBasilisk - 2015/08/30 13:32:59

10 Replies Related Threads

Vlada011
    Omnipotent Enthusiast
    • Total Posts : 10257
    • Ribbons : 11
    Re: Help! Bought EVGA GTX 980 TI ACX 2.0 SC+ with Backplate, now confused. 2015/08/30 13:51:56 (permalink)
    Hello, welcome.
    I think you choose great card, both EVGA SC versions are great, reference and ACX 2.0.
    Reference give little wider possibility because you can use Hybrid cooler and push air out of case.