Salaries in the IT field

Page: < 123 Showing page 3 of 3
Author
Holo
CLASSIFIED Member
  • Total Posts : 3328
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 4
Re: Salaries in the IT field 2015/03/01 14:14:26 (permalink)
bcavnaugh
candle_86
Grey_Beard
Computers are my hobby, so I am self taught. I am run a business but the IT guys always listen to my opinion. I have an advanced degree but not in IT. I help more people in my organization with IT than almost any other single area. IT is an integral part of our business model. Without it, we would not be as effective as we are. The issues I have is that many in IT do not know what their end users do. Help desk in particular. Even help desk needs to know what the business is. Unfortunately many on both sides do not want to gain an understanding of the other. Those that do are the ones who can make large pay checks. This is the true value add.

well most companies treat IT like crap, we don't make them a profit they can see, only spend money. I see that time and again, the IT budget is cut, the IT staff is cut, then people start complaining about their equipment failing ect, and then they yell at IT for it. Its a rare thing when the business side gives a damn about the IT people keeping their systems running so they can make money.

For an Internal IT within a company they should not be looking for a profit Period.
They are now looking only at profit and could care less about the end user, the mission of the end user.
It is called the "Death of the IT", and this is what is causing IT such a large turn around and the biggest loss the Experts.
Like lets pay ONE IT Tech a great Salary and can get the task in hand done in a timely manner to Two or Three Hourly IT Techs that are clueless about what they are doing and takes 200 or 300 times longer to complete the same task.