EVGA

Helpful ReplyWhat to Buy Now or Wait

Author
Cadred
  • Total Posts : 67
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 0
2014/12/17 16:03:15 (permalink)
I'm building a new rig based around an air-cooled x99 with i7 5820k, with sli gtx 970.  I'm not a real techie so it must work out of the box.  The research I've done scares me.  From customer reviews on Newegg, Asus has nightmare customer service issues, and both the EVGA X99 clasified/FTW boot errors are making many people very angry.  Frankly I wouldn't know what to do if I couldn't boot.

I'm building for the long run.  I have the cpu and gpu.  Will purchase an x99 board, ssd, 16gb  ram, corsair hx 850 psu, sound card, wifi card,  an air cooler, and a new case.

I have a Z68 ftw, which has been a great board for me, and EVGA service is a legend.  The X99 FTW is prly good enough for me.  Can you help me build my system. 

Should I pull the trigger now on the X99 FTW, or wait til it's more stable.  I see that EVGA has put out a new bios; is that the fix for the board?  I need help with the fan.  I won't be doing OC for awhile, so do I need an oversized fan?  Is there room on the board for an oversized fan and ram too?  As to ram, what do you recommend.  EVGA's compatibility chart only lists DDR4.  Can you use DR3 to save some cash?

i currently have a 932 haf.... the case is fine, but the front panel and bracket usb haven't worked for a year, and the CM US store NEVER has them in stock.  If I can jerry rig the components to get it working again I will so I don't have to buy a case.  I've been thinking about the Corsair Cube, but do you have a case recommendation?  Nothing over $200. 

What sound cards are you using currently.  I bought a xonar for my last system, but it never worked.

Any other thoughts would be much appreciated.... and I thank you in advance for your help.
Boxlid
Superclocked Member
  • Total Posts : 223
  • Ribbons : 3