EVGA

AnsweredAdding Another GTX Titan Black to a 3.5 Year Old PSU, New PSU Needed?

Author
JimboC
  • Total Posts : 33
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 0
2014/11/23 08:03:20 (permalink)
Hello everyone,

I hope that you are doing well.

My computer currently has an EVGA GTX Titan (836 MHz Base clock, 876 MHz Boost clock) installed. In the coming week I will be adding an EVGA GTX Titan Black SC (967 MHz Base clock, 1072 MHz Boost clock). By the way, I realize I cannot SLI these GPUs that is not my intention, I simply want to use them for Folding@Home.

My PC consumes 350 W from the power outlet (measured with an energy meter) at this time with the Titan and my CPU at 100% usage. Adding another Titan will bring the usage to about 600 W.

I use my PC for Folding@Home and it runs 24 hours a day for 3 to 4 days each week. I have been doing this since August 2011. I bought my PSU, a Corsair HX 1000 at the same time and I was wondering if I should upgrade it to a new PSU? I am unsure how much wear this has caused to my current PSU. It is still working perfectly but I am wondering how much longer it will last. I am considering upgrading to a Corsair AX 1200i.

For your information, my PC had 2x EVGA Geforce GTX 580 SC installed until September 2013 when one GPU failed and I decided to replace both for the EVGA Titan GPU instead. I used those GTX 580s until September 2013 for Folding@Home in a similar usage pattern to what I have described above.

Any advice on whether I should consider replacing my existing PSU would be much appreciated. If I can provide any further information, please let me know.

Thanks in advance for your time and I wish you a Happy Thanksgiving.

Intel Core i9 7980XE @ 2.6 GHz | 64GB Corsair Dominator Platinum PC4-21300 | Asus Rampage VI Apex | 2x Nvidia Titan RTX “T-Rex” (NVLink Enabled) | Corsair AX1600i PSU | Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 Pure Edition | Dell U2711 LCD | Windows 10 Pro for Workstations 64 Bit (Version 1903)
Sajin