EVGA

Helpful ReplyBeginner with Intel HD Graphics (via HDMI) using EVGA Z87 FTW - Help needed

Author
cetus35
  • Total Posts : 3
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 0
2014/10/18 10:16:54 (permalink)
Hi all,

I'm a computer technician but this is my first build that includes an Intel CPU with built-in graphics.

I really have no idea where to start.

I did learn quickly that it can't be used for the initial BIOS setup. Of course that's obvious to you experienced users.
Then again maybe that's not how it's supposed to work, I don't know.

When I ran an HDMI cable from the HDMI port on the mobo then to the HDMI port on my monitor then powered up the system, the screen remained blank. I tried to remedy this a couple of different ways but I eventually resorted to using an inexpensive video card I had lying around.

I successfully installed Win 7 x64 and all drivers, except the Intel HD Graphics driver, which resulted in an error saying I didn't have supported hardware. (?) The driver came from the EVGA driver download page where it's clearly labeled 'Intel HD Graphics'.

So, no initial HD Graphics and no idea how to get it to work even after Windows is installed, either.

Where do I go from here?

Thank you in advance for any assistance provided.
Hugh

- EVGA Z87 FTW LGA 1150
- Intel Pentium G3258 with Intel HD Graphics (Anniversary Edition)
- 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1600

dizzi2234
  • Total Posts : 4
Re: Beginner with Intel HD Graphics (via HDMI) using EVGA Z87 FTW - Help needed 2014/10/24 07:25:47 (permalink) ☄ Helpfulby cetus35 2014/10/28 14:45:49
try updating the bios mate and remember theres a bois switch on the mobo just below the atx power and remeber when trying to use the onboard hdmi you have to take your graphics card out your lucky tho i cannot for the life of me get mine to go in to bios using my graphics card ONLY the onboard graphics lol
cetus35
  • Total Posts : 3