Liquid Cooling Questions

Author
VVhiplash
iCX Member
  • Total Posts : 392
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 1
2014/10/17 16:22:38 (permalink)
I'm just getting into liquid cooling and want to know some of the does and donts, as well as differences between things like push/pull orientations on radiators. So here goes:

1. Push air through, or Pull air through? Whats the difference? (does pull mean pulling air from outside and through the rad, or from inside the case-then through the rad and out the case?)
2. Is there anything I should know before picking a reservoir? Why is it important? Does size matter?
3. Can the reservoir be placed horizontally in a case, rather than vertically? Are there any dangers to doing that differently?
4. Is it bad to put silver coils in with copper water-blocks?
5. Where should the pump be? Above, below, beside the reservoir/cooled component?
6. What kinds of fittings are the best? Or which ones should I pay attention to? Or what are the benefits of each different type?
7. What kind of maintenance is involved/required with liquid cooling systems. I see people build custom water cooled systems all the time on YouTube, and for all I know they just sit there for years like air cooled machines (minus the occasional dusting/cleaning, I imagine you at least have to dust the radiators).  
8. Last of all, are there things related to any of these other questions that I should STEER CLEAR of? Bad products, bad ideas, common misconceptions? 

Thanks to everyone here in this great community who can help!

ll Steiger-Dynamics Maven ll Intel i7-5930k 4.2Ghz ll ASRock X99 Extreme6/AC ll Liqmax II 240 ll GeiL Super-Luce 32gb 2666mhz ll (x2)EVGA GTX 980 SC ll Samsung XP941 500gb and 850 Pro 1TB ll EVGA PS 1000W Platinum ll

23 Replies Related Threads

dave851
    FTW Member
    • Total Posts : 1696
    • Ribbons : 5
    Re: Liquid Cooling Questions 2014/10/17 18:13:20 (permalink)
    VVhiplash