EVGA

please help

Author
Eklipz
  • Total Posts : 2
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 0
2014/08/21 20:27:14 (permalink)
I have Evga x85 M.B. with I-7 920 2.6 running an O.C. of 4.2; 6 gigs G.Skill DDR3 (99924). air cooled with temp @35C at idol and 75C when massive stress testing. average running temp is 45C. running win 7 ult. I have been running this system for oh 3-5 years now. It has had a lot of time sitting as i was an over the road trucker. any who My system is running sluggish. I recently revamped my power consumption and thought i might try playing with a ram oc too. never did find a stable ram oc but then i am a Nub lol i built this machine with aid from a friend. i thought it might be malware and all that jazz so i currently have paid version of Spy-bot (Love it!) Bit Defender internet security or what ever they want to call it. free malware bytes free avast. after running scans i did find 163 issues with spy-bot 2 things with bit-defender 20 malware bytes.
after cleaning all that out rebooting, cleaning up the system and defragging... still sluggish any thoughts? is it my voltage? or something else. If you need more info from me just let me know i will be monitoring this thread. It may take a bit but i will get you an requested info you wish. thanks

4 Replies Related Threads

_JamesR
    EVGA Alumni
    • Total Posts : 253
    Re: please help 2014/08/21 20:41:28 (permalink)
    As this issue is a strange one, you may consider entering the BIOS and setting up your RAM timings as specified by the manufacturer of your RAM set. These settings are usually printed on the RAM itself; if not, you'll have to find the model RAM you own on the manufacturer website to find the settings. They're usually marked as 9-9-9-24 or something similar. If you have XMP profiles enabled, disable them for the time being. I've seen this fix similar issues with other x58s, and may well apply here.