EVGA

SLI performing WORSE than single card in Skyrim.

Author
YunGrey
  • Total Posts : 8
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 0
2014/07/29 16:25:14 (permalink)
I did loads of research before I bought another GTX 780, and almost everywhere I read anything from, almost all people said you will see gains going SLI as long as nothing else is holding you back or limiting your system like your CPU. I have a 3570k overclocked to 4.2Ghz with an H100i. It is my impression that Skyrim is well optimized for SLI.
I will state this. This is my first time going SLI. I do have SLI enabled through the Nvidia control panel and confirmed both GPUs are working with Precision X while in game. I still may have something wrong.
These framerates are from as soon as you enter Whiterun, and I have many mods that affect Whiterun as well as mods that ad NPCs, and loads of texture mods.
(Framerates only changed 1-2fps if am running an ENB or not.)
Framerate without SLI = 20
Framerate with SLI = 18
I was hoping to see at least a small increase at this area, like 10-15 at least, but not a drop.
I have searched online on if there is any setting that you manually have to turn on to enable SLI in game, but everything I read is from 1 or 2 years ago, from like version 1.2 or 1.4 of Skyrim, and the things stated no longer apply, so I assumed it was implemented by default in the later updates.
Also, from monitoring them in game, my GPU usage maxes out around 50% and my CPU maxes out around 60%, not sure why so low even though my fps is so low.
I have also tried each of the available 780 drivers, oldest to newest, no changes.

My system:
Windows 8 64-bit
AS Rock Z77 Extreme4 Motherboard
2x EVGA SC GTX780 3Gb
i5-3570k @4.2GHz
H100i CPU cooler
ASUS 1920x1080 Monitor 60Hz
Some SSDs for OS and games

Any advice is appreciated. 

15 Replies Related Threads

ty_ger07
    Insert Custom Title Here
    • Total Posts : 21171
    • Ribbons : 270