EVGA

Strange temps problem with EVGA Classified 780 ACX while 100% fan

Author
Imperium
  • Total Posts : 7
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 0
2014/07/25 00:04:45 (permalink)
Hi, its my first time here, and the first time that I have an EVGA card, the Cassified ACX 780 and I have some strange problems with the temps.
First I had instant shutdowns, +83ºC in 100% fan and some kind of airtfacts, the screen go black to half a second and returns back in the game, dont matters what game if its fullscreen. (Card usage was under 50%). I had a Nox vx 750W power supply, I thought it was the problem of all, 2 days ago I bought the EVGA SuperNova 1300W G2, no more shutdowns, +20fps in some games but still have the temp problem, now is not a +83ºC under load, but is a 80ºC under test at 100% fan and 77ºC on game (only play 5 min to test)

The airtfacs only appears in large session (+2 - 3 hours), I don't know if the airtfacs problem is still there, need to play more hours.
Obviusly my OC is inexistent, i tried +100 core... nothing. +60... nothing.... and the OC was one of the main things for buying this card.

I tested my card in one friend's PC and he had a completly different temps, 70ºC in games (tested 20 min) / 75ºC in test, 68ºC with OC in games (tested only a little bit) and 79ºC at test, with 1200 ~ core clock.
Here is the question, Evga's tech support suggested me to do an RMA on the card, I live in Spain and I don't know how exactly works the Evga RMA system, so I searched in the internet and I found that I have to pay the shipment of the card, what if the say that the card works perfectly? And why my friend has different temps?

I thought it was the power supply, considering that I changed all but the case, the hard drives and the Noctua... maybe its the airflow inside the case, the Noctua is just above the card and my friend has WaterCooling in his processor, that means more space to airflow.