1070 FTW just arrived, a couple of questions

Author
Asgar_55
  • Total Posts : 30
  • Reward points : 0
  • Ribbons : 0
2016/07/27 03:20:31 (permalink)
Good morning all!

just yesterday I received my first EVGA card, a 1070 FTW, so I'm new here. I take this opportunity to introduce myself.

I am very happy with my purchase, with performance jump and the quality of finishes and materials of this monster, but I have some doubts, and I think this is the best place to resolve them. Two questions, sure this is easy, but I'm not an expert...

First, at game, the core clock reaches up to 2000 MHz, the boost clock of this card is not 1797?
Second, the workload sixteen LEDs over the two 6+2 PCI-E connectors always remain off, why?

Thanks for the help, and sorry if I make a mistake, or posting in wrong place

5 Replies Related Threads

z999z3mystorys
    CLASSIFIED Member
    • Total Posts : 4480
    • Ribbons : 23
    Re: 1070 FTW just arrived, a couple of questions 2016/07/27 03:32:28 (permalink)
    Hey, and welcome to the forums, as for the clock speeds, that's normal, there's some unknown to me "real" max boost clock, and then there's the advertised boost clock. from my experiences with other cards and my GTX 1080 FTW DT, it seems that it'll slowly scale back over time from the max boost clock, down as far as the advertised boost clock, even without "real" throttling. if real throttling kicks in it'll drop lower ( IE gets too hot, or draws to much power, or simply doesn't need to run at a high speed)

As for the LEDs, I don't think the 16 points above the power connectors are LED, but soldering points for part of the power connectors on the card, if you're referring to what I think you are.
    Asgar_55
    Re: 1070 FTW just arrived, a couple of questions 2016/07/27 05:30:59 (permalink)
    Thanks for the welcome and the help